Skip to content

Life Starts Here…

July 25, 2011

On Friday 22nd July something quite monumental happened at Didsbury Life. The end of an era…

After 17 years at the chalkface, the time had come to say “Goodbye” and dive full time into Life. I’ve loved teaching. I’ve loved the schools I’ve worked in. I’ve loved those cliched moments when you have made a real difference to a child’s life. But I haven’t loved the shifting goalposts, the relentless marking (try teaching GCSE English…), the pressure of OFSTED visits. And, trying to effectively do two full time jobs. One had to go. And I fell on the side of Life.

So, Friday evening – the day I left – saw me sitting in Folk, bemoaning the fact that our usual early evening friends weren’t around. Where were the Mannings? Always so reliable, but not tonight! Never mind, we were off to see Sian & Martin for dinner…

Slight argument en route as we always take the wrong turn off & we arrived for dinner. Or, so I thought. I pride myself on not much getting past me – years of the wily ways of  Year 11 hone your senses. But I did NOT see this one coming. Rarely am I lost for words. But on this occasion, given what had been planned and who turned up, I was speechless…

Speechless...

Speechless...

Our gorgeous friend Sian had opened her home & invited businesses we’ve formed really close relationships with, to be part of a very special evening. So, huge thanks, and in no particular order to Sian & Martin, The Mannings (including Lucy, Ava & Chloe), Kate & Kenny from Reserve Wines, Sian from The Flower Lounge, Mike Garry & Amanda McCrann, Jess & John from ICityMedia, Paul & Kelda from Ferrious, Claire Jones (Claire Louise Mobile Beauty), Penny & Tim (and Leo) from Love2Eat Deli, Katie (WDRA), Matt from 360 Personal Training and Hannah from Pearls and Lace Film. Massive thanks must also go to Pete. Those of you know us, know how patient he is – but don’t ever let him know I’ve acknowledged this! Thanks also to other people who we’ve seen since and people who’ve left messages, texts and tweets.  A very special bunch of businesses, who we definitely call friends.

So, a new chapter has started. Things have already started changing at our offices on Burton Rd – the whole Life operation is moving up a floor, t0 accomodate the next venture. Life is definitely very beautiful at the moment…

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 7:54 am

    Awwww, I just saw this!
    We can’t wait for the next venture and look forward to you whipping Burton Road into shape on a full time basis 😉
    Love
    S&M
    xx

Leave a Reply

